I wanted to share a story from my BF about a recent trip of meeting his ex-wife to drop off his son.  Enjoy!

Karma????

by Michael Brandon

Karma?  Keep in mind that I normally drive, but do not possess my wallet today so could not drive. We leave the house to take my son Caleb back and are on our way to meet his mother. A couple of minutes into the drive, Donna is driving due to lack of ID on my part, goes something like this…

Me: (realizing the fog is so thick you can cut it with a knife) “Do you have the lights on babe?”

Donna: (Pointing to the driver’s side area) “See this? I got this right here. (slight giggle)”

Me: Ohhhhhhh….okay then.

We chuckle about it and are on our merry way….All goes well as we drop Caleb Brandon off with his Mother and begin to head home. Now, it is still very foggy keep in mind. Here we go….

Me:  (As we pass a sign on the road that reads “LIGHTS ON FOR SAFETY” I think to myself…hmmm better make sure she has the lights on. Just as I am about to ask her, it clicks! WAIT!!! I remember what had happened earlier and decided to assume that SHE’S GOT THIS.5 minutes down the road……

Me: There is a Sheriff ahead with his lights on

Donna: Where? Oh, I see him….continue driving passed the Sheriff and at a safe speed.Donna: He’s pulling out but not coming up on us so do I pull over?

Me: Yes, just pull over and let him pass.

Donna begins to pull over and to our surprise, so does the Sheriff. Both of us have total looks of confusion on our faces about this point.Sheriff walks up to the passenger side, (Passenger window does not roll down), I motion the window is broke and he asks me to open the door.

Sheriff: Morning. Do you know why I pulled you over?

Donna and I: (With a deer in the headlights look and in total unison) *blink* *blink* *blink*   “Noooooooooo, not really”And with that, he looks at us both like we are clueless morons. and you can almost see he wants to laugh.

Sheriff: Ma’am, you were driving without your lights on in foggy conditions.

Donna and I both just HAD to look at the light switch to see it was in the OFF position.

Donna: Oh shoot! I didn’t even realize it. I had them on earlier, dropped off his Son, and must have forgotten to turn them back on.

Me, now laughing out loud and looking at the Sheriff, just HAS to explain how I had told her earlier about the lights and how she had said “I GOT THIS”. He shows a slight grin as he asks for our ID’s. Donna produces hers, but as earlier stated, I do not have my wallet on me. Smirk leaves his face as he now has to take my name and D.O.B. so he can obviously check me out.

 Donna: Now you look suspicious…..(giggle)

Me: Oh that’s great…(chuckle)

A few minutes go by and he returns.

Sheriff: okay, everything checks out. ma’am, I am just going to give you a warning, but be sure to turn your lights on.

Me: ( I run thru the “GOT THIS” story yet again) and the Sheriff chuckles and it seems as tho he was letting me know he gave me something to use against her for the rest of the day. I am sure he knows the as men we do not win very often and have to take every advantage we can. Now it is over, we pull away, CHECKING THE LIGHTS FIRST!!!!!

Donna: I thought he was writing me a ticket for sure. I am so glad he just gave me a warning. Maybe he thought I was cute. (giggle)

Me: Yeah, or maybe he thought I was.  (wink)

And now we are on our way.

 

 

~Donna

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

Dish with me

