It’s a beautiful Tuesday here in Central FL and since I ended up not having to work today I thought I would do some Avon work.  I am trying to increase my customer base and know that making my brochures stand out from all the other hundreds of Avon reps is the answer.  So, I packed up my brochures and head to our local coffee shop, with a side trip to the craft store, to have a coffee and work on making my brochures a master piece of funny and unusual.

I stopped at the craft store for craft glue and googly eyes.  I’m snickering to myself as I’m paying for purchases.  I’m thinking that I have found the most brilliant idea and no one else has stumbled on it yet.  I was so excited that I even gave the cashier a handmade business card with an Avon sample taped to it.  I have been feeling very crafty the last few days and figured that I might as well take advantage of it. 

I get to the coffee shop, order a White Chocolate Mocha, skim, no whip and a wrap to eat and settle into my seat and spread out my brochures, glue and googly eyes over the table and set out to work.

Take my first brochure and turn to a page that has a gorgeous model with perfect hair and skin and glue googly eyes on her.  I’m laughing to myself because I’m thinking this is hilarious.  Doesn’t take much to amuse me apparently.  I take one page from about 3 brochures and have glue googly eyes on beautiful models.  Now I’m sure you all know why I’m doing this….First, we all know that these models don’t represent REAL women.  They are airbrushed to look that way.  We ALL have our own kind of beauty and I hate others telling me what is beautiful and what is not.  Second, it’s just funny.  Open a brochure, turn to a page and this is this big, googly-eyed beauty staring at you.  It’s makes me smile just thinking about it.

So anyway, I have given bug eyes to 3 different brochures and wanted to know what someone else might think and find it as funny as I do.  I sit in my chair wanting to go up to the waitress and keep talking myself out of it.  I remember hearing somewhere that if have the impulse to get up and do something and you don’t get up within 5 seconds then you won’t do it.  I thought about it one more time then jumped up out of my chair and walked over to the cashier.  I didn’t want to be part of the statistic that doesn’t get up.

Here is our conversation.

Me:  “Excuse me.  I want to show you something and see if you find it as funny as I do.”  I’m grinning like an idiot because I’m thinking that she’s gonna laugh.  I open the book to the page with the model.

Cashier:  gasp  

Me:  “You don’t think this is funny?”

Cashier:  “Not really”

Me:  “See?”  Now I shake the book at her, making the eyes move.  Like she couldn’t have possibly gotten the full effect when I opened the book.  

Cashier:  “It’s kind of creepy”

Me:  “I thought it was funny”

Cashier:  “No, it’s just creepy”

I think she told someone behind the counter what I did, I know I heard snickering.  I don’t mind being known as the “crazy” Avon Lady but just don’t want to be known as the “creepy” Avon Lady.  At first I felt so rejected that no one else found it funny then I realized it’s just another funny story in my life.  At least she will remember me.  I guess that’s something.

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought-provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

One response

  1. […] Wasn’t quite what I was going for….. (dishwithdonna.wordpress.com) GA_googleFillSlot("wpcom_sharethrough_viplite"); Share this:StumbleUponTumblrFacebookDiggTwitterLike this:LikeBe the first to like this post. […]