My boyfriends son and I were watching a talk show on tv, you know the one where everyone is fighting and throwing things,  when he asked me this question. “If someone was trying to “get with” my daddy, would you fight them?”.  Now I had to think about this for a moment.  I knew he wanted to me to say “Yeah, I would punch her in the face if she tried to take your dad from me” but I just couldn’t bring myself to say it.  I looked at him trying to find the right words to respond.  He kept looking at me, waiting, when I didn’t answer right a way, he raised his eyebrows.  He so wanted me to say that I would punch someone but still I couldn’t say it. I think he thought that fighting is the only way to show the person that you really love them and want to keep them.

Now let me explain why I couldn’t say that I would fight.   

1.  We are trying to teach our kids that fighting is NOT the answer.  You can’t just punch someone in the face because they are doing something you feel isn’t right.  There is a time and place for everything, I guess.  Maybe there is a time that someone would need to be punched.  But me punching another woman over a man is not one of them. 

2.  Teaching them that begging to stay in a relationship will make you misable and unhappy in the long run.  If someone was trying to steal my man and my man goes…..then it wasn’t meant to be anyway.  Go be happy!  Everyone deserves to be happy.  It’s taken a long time for me to realize that sometimes letting something go is the best thing for both of you.

So I would like to know, would you physically fight if someone was trying to steal your man/woman?  The 13 year old would.

 

 

 

 

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

Dish with me

