On June 2, I wrote the post of  Why I became a Nursing Assistant.  At that time, I had no idea how my life would change.

On May 12, 2011 I graduated the Certified Nursing Assistant course at a local medical training center and went straight to work.  I knew the impact that I could have on someone’s life, helping with Activities of Daily Living, but never dreamed the impact that they would have on mine. 

As I have said in previous post, from the time that I was a little girl I always knew that I wanted to be a nurse.  Never having persued this dream as a teenager I reached out and grabbed my dream at the age of 41.  Why didn’t I do this sooner?  Well, life gets in the way.  You put off things until the kids are grown, bills are paid off, etc.  The reality at that time was that I wasn’t sure if my then current job would survive into the future for very much longer.  I decided to take a leap of faith BEFORE I was forced to look for something else due to lay off.  Like alot of people, I had been thru that before and was NOT going to wait for it to happen again. 

I have been working with clients in their homes for almost two months.  Deciding that a nursing home or rehab facility may not be the best fit for me.  It gives me great pride to see the help that I’m giving really matters to someone else.  You are helping people with some of the most private activities of their lives.  The connections you make with people are incredible.  In a short amount of time start to really love and care about the people that you are with everyday.  Your clients start to learn to really depend on you being there and look forward to seeing you everyday. 

The conversations you  have are great and sometime unbelievable.  You can learn so much from the elderly.  :) One of my clients is actually teaches me history.  You can see her face light up as she shares her wealth of knowledge; and I find it very interesting.  I was never good at history so I’m learning something new everyday.  Of course one, thought she could still perm her own hair at 90 years old, too.  I’m just glad she didn’t try.  I had a client that told me one day, “Do you know I’m 90 years old?  That’s old! Oh my gosh, how did I get so old?”.  She said this as if she had been completely unaware.

Sometimes you are helping someone to deal with death of a loved one.  The hurt is so great, especially if it is a sibling.  This inevitably leads to thinking about your own mortality.  It has to be a hard thing to wake up and realize that you are in the winter of your life and there are some things that you can’t take back.  You have to ask God for his forgivness and forgive yourself. 

I’ve learned from working with clients is that it doesn’t matter your age, you still have something very valuable and important to say.  We all want to be valued, loved and our voices heard.  Sometimes we all need a helping hand and when someone is willing to help….let them.  At some point you have to quit being embarrassed and say, “Thank you”. 

What impact are you having on someone’s life?  What impact are they having on yours?


 

 

 

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

Dish with me

