My friend Lynsey at Moscato Mom wrote a great article about her and her daughter watching an episode of ABC’s The Bachelorette, Tween learning dating lesson’s from ABC’s The Bachelorette.  Although I’m not a big fan of the show, her article did reveal the silver lining of actually watching the show.    

It got me to thinking that her daughter is a pretty smart young lady.  Why couldn’t the rest of us learn these lessons at an earlier age?  Instead of going thru relationship after relationship of being miserable and thinking “he’s an idiot”.  I too have tried to teach my daughters to live their life before settling down in a relationship and not to let their identity get lost in a guy/relationship.  Teaching them that they have to be happy with themselves before being happy with someone else.  Of course these talks with my oldest daughter are met with “Mom, you just don’t understand” or “I know, I know, you have told me this a hundred times”.  She has to learn on her own and the hard way. 

I’ve been married twice.  Once to a good guy but we grew apart after getting out of the military and moving back to where we grew up.  Second to a guy that was a liar.  Too bad I found this out about 7 years too late.  I am not married now but I do have a boyfriend and we live together.  We both agree that we are not interesting in arguing all the time and there is no begging someone to stay if that is not what they want.  I’m older and hopefully wiser now. 

It’s taken me a long time (too many years) to realize that you have to be true to yourself and good to yourself before you can be a relationship.  I agree with her Tween “I’d rather have a pedicure with my girlfriends on a Friday night” than date.  I say she got it figured out waaayy before the rest of us. 


 

 

 

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

Dish with me

