My boyfriend and I have each have our sons for summer vacation and thought we’d take them skateboarding today.   This started out as innocent enough idea, soon to go down hill.   The skate board park was closed so we took them to deserted subdivision (it was  never finished being developed) where the streets were in good condition.  We let the boys out and they took off on their boards, jumping curbs and racing up and down the street; while the “old” folks sat by the truck. 

After about 30 minutes the boys came back, red faced and dying of thirst.  As they rested, my darling boyfriend thought it was a good idea, at 40 years old, to get on a skateboard again and show how agility on the board.  As he’s lying on his back, in the middle of the street, I’m sure the idea sounded better in his head.  Now with sore back, skinned up arm and foot; I think he will think twice before doing that again.   I tried to warn him that we’re not 16 anymore but he wouldn’t listen.  I offered to call an ambulance but he didn’t want anyone to see him laying on the ground. 

Lesson that we learned:  We’re NOT 16 anymore.  We have no business on a skateboard (killing machine) unless you’re a professional (or have a death wish).  LOL

Donna
2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

4 responses »

  1. kaleigh says:

    LOL!! My husband had a similar moment this weekend while playing at the water park. Luckily only his ego was bruised!

  2. I have had many incidents like that when my kids come home from school.
    It starts off innocent:
    Come on Mom, you taught us how to do this
    Come on Mom, you are only as old as you think you are, hogwash, I fall and ache 3 times longer than I ever did before.

Dish with me

