Our characters on WoW

Source:  World of Warcraft

We’ve all had ridiculous conversations and/or arguments with our friends and significant others.  Here is just one, there are many, of the conversations between myself and my sweet man. 

I will set this up by saying that I’m sure most people know SOMEONE that plays WoW.  That’s World of Warcraft for any of you out of the loop.   It’s a very popular online role-playing game.  Which FYI, I’m VERY bad at playing.  I do attempt to play, since my man loves this game.  Actually we play in the midst of the following conversations:

SM:  “You’re getting me killed!”
ME:  “Sorry”
SM:  “Where did you go now! You HAVE to stay right with me” “Hurry, I’m dying”
ME:  “I don’t know where I am”  At this point, sometimes I get so frustrated I cry.  :) This is REAL fun.

Or this great one:  In the middle of hundreds of other players with characters

SM:  “I’m over here.  Walk over to me.”
Me:  “Where?  I don’t see you”
SM:  “Over here! I’m jumping up and down.  Can’t you see me? Wait! You’re going the wrong way! Oh, just stay there, I’ll come to you.” 

I swear my man has the patience of Job, when I comes to me and playing online games.  He’s actually very sweet but sometimes thinks that I automatically know how to play certain aspects of this game.  I could go on and on with various funny scenarios but let’s begin our morning conversation.

This morning my sweet man decided to share his “exciting” story with me about getting a “rare” item while playing.  “I’ve only had one world drop in three years I’ve been playing”, he says.  You can see the excitement in face, hear it in his voice.  Even my son is now joining in the story telling of how great this “find” is. Obviously, He had been playing this game with my son, while I was at work.  Anyway he had gotten, what he described as, a purple companion bird like a Macaw parrot and that he sold it for $6,000 gold.  (A “companion” is an animal or some other creature that follows you around while you are completing quests.  Most of them are quite cute, actually.)

My first reaction to his news was:

Me:  “Why didn’t you give it to me?” 
SM:  “Why give it to you when I can sell it for $6,000 gold.” 

Gold: As you work thru quests you can gain money in the form of gold, silver and copper from individuals and even animals.  Now I don’t know about you but my dogs do NOT carry gold around with them, but whatever. Obviously we don’t play this game for the dose of reality  :)

Not like I really wanted this item but the thought that he would rather “sell” it than let me have it bothered me.  I felt hurt somehow, like he picked “gold” over me.  Wasn’t like he won the lottery and decided he didn’t want to be together anymore.  The “right of first refusal” would have been nice.  

Although I DID give him a hard time, we had a good laugh about it.   

SM: “You’re just trying to make me feel bad
Me: “Is it working?”
SM:  “No”

He said he didn’t feel bad but we will see if he gives me the next one he receives.  Probably not if he can sell it for “gold”.  :P  Why didn’t he just give me the bird?  After reading this post he probably is.  :)   

After wasting 30 minutes of our lives on this ridiculous conversation I’ve had to remind myself of the following:

IT’S NOT REAL MONEY, ANIMALS or COMPANIONS.  IT’S PRETEND.  Let it goooooo :)

For those of you who are serious players, I admire you and good luck. 


 

 

 

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

 

Further Reading:  Here we go again. 

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

3 responses »

  1. Puttytat43 says:

    lol Does this mean i have to call him SM from now on? Cuz u know I won’t lol

  2. […] a previous post I wrote about how I play, well not really play, or try to play WOW with my boyfriend.  I […]

Dish with me

