I read an article in the Florida Today newspaper that stated that couples are not opting to get married but rather “cohabit”.  At first I thought this was rather odd and surely untrue.  Until I remembered, oh yeah, I’m not married.  I “cohabit” as well.

According to this article, data released last week by the Census Bureau showed that married couples are now a minority.  This is a trend that has been gradually increasing  for decades.

This trend is thought to be due to the older population are either widowed later in life or divorced.  While younger couples are not focusing on marriage due to career, money etc.

My reason for cohabiting instead of getting married?   It’s because it feels like my choice to be with this person and not because I feel like I’m “obligated” to be with them. Are you “cohabiting”?  What is your reason?

Donna
2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

9 responses »

  1. I’m not cohabiting yet, although I do not plan on marrying someone until I live with them for awhile. Yes, marriage is important to me but I’m only 25 with other dreams right now. There was a time not long ago when cohabiting was frowned upon and a couple friends of mine still feel strongly against it (in fact a local Catholic school board will destroy your teaching career if they find out you’re living with someone even a few weeks before your wedding day). But those few instances aside, I believe most people my age aren’t willing to tie the knot until they know they can stand the other person’s day-to-day habits.

    • Dish with Donna says:

      Thank you for your comment. :) As I’ve gotten older, I agree with the idea of living together with someone and learning about each other before marriage. That still does not mean you will learn everything. I was with my last husband for 7 years, lived with him for the first 3 of those 7 and did not find out what kind of person he was until that last year. But that’s a whole ‘nother blog post. :) Wow, me not being of Catholic faith, I did not realize that cohabiting was so frowned upon now.

      • I saw after I posted that comment that you are also new to blogging :)

        I’m not of the Catholic faith either, but some of my friends work as teachers in the local Catholic school board. Living with each other isn’t frowned upon per se…but it’s the other things that are assumed to be happening that are and apparently it’s a bad example for the kids/teenagers. I think it’s illegal for them to be doing what they’re doing but that’s just my opinion! I’m just happy I don’t have to deal with it!

  2. Puttytat43 says:

    I have been married for 22 yrs and if we ever split, I always tell people I will never marry again. I would like to have the option to leave if I want to. Yes, I could do that now but you have to have paperwork and all that boring stuff to take care of. I believe its also cheaper to cohabit. Each person has their own money and if they decide to split the bills they can. I believe it will be more popular for the elderly to do as they don’t want their marital status to effect the small social security income they get each month. Hope my 2 cents makes sense. lol

    • Dish with Donna says:

      Thanks for the comment. :) I never thougth about social security but yes, that makes sense. I didn’t realize that cohabiting and not marrying was more the norm now. Me being in my own little world never thought about it until this article.

  3. Dish with Donna says:

    I can see the point regarding the children. But I looked at it that my children saw me in a committed relationship and what that relationship should look like. My children never met anyone that I was just “dating”. In the future, I’m sure there will be a great debate regarding this an the church. The church we attended, did not give us a hard time. Accepted our blended family. Different faiths, I guess.

    • Yeah pretty crazy for sure. I knew about teachers when I was in high school who were “dating” and no one said anything. I think it’s the fact that it’s a small town too, everyone is in everyone’s business, it’s very stereotypical. But you’re right, you want to show your kids that you’re happy regardless of marital status.

  4. jeannie says:

    I think marriage is becoming more of a novelty. It’s too bad really.

    • Dish with Donna says:

      Thanks Jeannie for your comment. I loved being married. One that ended really badly, makes me hesitate now.

Dish with me

