Every day, and I do mean EVERY day, when my family and I sit down for dinner, we go thru the same routine with our Shih Tzu’s.  At dinner, they are fed in the kitchen in hopes that one day we will not have to endure the shameless begging and performance they put on for a morsel of food from the table.

Sitting in the kitchen eagerly waiting for their evening meal, they look at the bowl put before them and look back up at me as if to say “Surely you can’t expect me to eat this!!”.  I tell them, “That’s all you are getting, so eat”.  I choose to believe on some level they do understand what I am saying but by now they know that if they wait long enough that I will give in. There are baby gates on each end of our walk thru kitchen (there are no doors), so they are able to see us at the dining room table.

I sit down at the table and feel the intense staring on my back.  It’s uncomfortable but I can get thru this, just one dinner without me giving in.  THIS time I will NOT give in, they will not get any food off of my plate.  Finally I can’t take the staring sensation any longer and slowly turn around to see two sets of big, brown, teddy bear eyes, and expressions of “please ma’am just a little bite. We’ve nothing to eat and awfully hungry”. (Yes I think they have expressions. If you don’t believe me, ask anyone has or has had a Shih Tzu or any dog for that matter.) Again I say, “You’re not getting anything else, so eat”.  At this point since they have gotten me to turn around, guess they figure they have nothing to lose with more shameless begging.  Now paws are on top of baby gate, head on paws and lower teeth protuding, as if they are smiling, and shaking all over.  What the heck is this?!?!  The dog looks like she is having a seizure but clearly using this in hopes of getting food from my plate. My female Shih Tzu has taught the other one the shaking trick, now they both do it.  Constantly smiling and shaking, shaking and smiling and big brown eyes (blink, blink).  Finally after several minutes, I can’t take it anymore.  Now I HAVE to give them something.  I mean, they have performed so beautifully and all.

Yet again, they have played me like a well tuned instrument and I have given in. They shouldn’t be do darn cute.

Donna

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

5 responses »

  1. rosiejiggles says:

    lmao Great blog! I love it!

  2. I truly believe our pups can work our hearts…to their liking! I know there are times that will all of mine, I cave fairly quickly. : ) Cute pup!

  3. Dish with Donna says:

    Thank you. They know just how to work us that’s for sure. :)

Dish with me

