Several weeks ago I decided that I wanted to give back to my community and also get some hospital experience to put my CNA skills to work and hopefully get a paying job there. So….I signed up for the hospital orientation to volunteer at the facility. I was so excited about this orientation and getting the chance to work in the hospital.

Today was volunteer orientation day at the hospital. Of course, I got there early.  Being so excited, I quickly took my seat and waited for everyone else to arrive.  There looked to be a small group of us for the orientation. At the last minute, a guys comes in and takes a seat. For some reason, this guy wants to sit next to me and talk during the entire orientation. Either asking ridiculous questions or saying comments that made you want to hit him in the back of the head with something.  Some people are better seen and NOT heard.  :) We made it through the presentation without any incident or anyone being clubbed on the head.

There is now a process of an interview and background checks, TB checks, etc. I’ve had so many background checks done, the government should know everything that I’ve done since the time I was born. The interview process will be to decide what volunteer times are good for me and what areas that I’m interested in working. I haven’t quite made up my mind on that one yet. There are so many things that I would love to do and so many areas that I would love to help people.

I do believe it is important to give back to the community and help those less fortunate. Also, if you are out of work, consider volunteering to gain more skills for the next job. You can still put those skills and work on your resume. It’s a win win situation for both you and the area that you are serving. My sister and I started volunteering together several years ago. I divorced and moved away from my sister, but she still volunteers today and gets much enjoyment from it.

Donna

2 ex’s, 2 dogs and 3 kids later…..Total ramblings that are personal and sometimes even thought provoking.

About Donna

A mom, girlfriend, daughter, sister and friend, a dreamer and soul of fire for life. I am a meditation, personal growth and positive attitude junkie. I am 2015 Spirit of Avon Award Winner and President's Club since 2012.

Dish with me

